Skip to content

A pantoum for the prisons

March 18, 2011

There is a single miracle left–

it will not be easy.

The clock is cracked and broken.

I almost dread the day I succeed,

 

it will not be easy.

The possibilities of impossible number many,

I almost dread the day I succeed.

I give God my heart to hold.

 

The possibilities of impossible number many

Because you told me to keep going,

I give God my heart to hold

the beads slipping between my fingers.

 

Because you told me to keep going

I mark the hours that I’ve passed,

the beads slipping between my fingers.

Praying for time to start.

 

I mark the hours I have passed

the clock is cracked and broken.

Praying for time to start

there is a single miracle left.

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

